Couchsurfing :)

I joined couchsurfing.org last November 2013 out of curiosity and read it but wasn’t thinking of delving in and experience it myself. I was only curious though and it’s not out of desperation to do something at the time while I was in the process of letting go and moving on phase. haha

On the contrary, I was never really updated or joined any group there yet but from time to time, I check my account and the events that are made by my fellow couchsurfers nearby. I have received requests from few people but wasn’t sure I things goes so I decided to turn them down until someone from France and decided to accept, and took some risk. And viola!

Things were quiet vague actually and haven’t talked to her much and only sent some details to her and let me know if ever she’s already in Butuan. That was a bit weird yet it worked. She arrived the day before the expected date but managed to set things up.

Having experienced communicating with foreigners before doesn’t seem too hard to approach talk to her.. I have always been fascinated in meeting people from all walks of life, regardless of race, color, sexual orientation, ethnicity and all the lil details that compose a person. I like meeting people literally, especially those friends I haven’t met yet. 😀

I remember my brother from another mother told me once, he was amazed as to how I remember a lot of things especially about history among other things and told me to keep it up and so I did, and through Melanie, my fellow couchsurfer, I have imparted to her few significant things about our city and about our family when she arrived and before going to bed, and it felt nice. I have never realized I have enough knowledge about my second hometown, Butuan.

The next days we took her to museums, first stop was the annex or the site where few of the “Balangays” were excavated and remains of royal families back in the day dated 400A.D. to pre Spanish era. It was refreshing for me and for everyone most especially to my cousin which also was her first like our new friend Melanie to come to to the place. 🙂

Second stop was at the main National Museum, but a lil disappointed. They were renovating the whole building and what we saw were too few from what they used to cater and show everyone years ago. Didn’t stayed that long though and then the last stop was to the scenic route, which was awesome. We rarely go out as much and it was a great experience for us, especially with cousin and I for we took a different route and passed by beautiful sceneries along the way. We stopped by the President Diosdado Macapagal Bridge which was obviously named after a Filipino president and took photos.

Instead of one night, she ended up staying a week with us which was longer than expected. 🙂

Somehow I felt proud not for myself but for the people God sent me and molded me to become who I am today. Along this journey with Melanie and the family, I have learned a lot of things not just through her but also, from people we encounter every single day, from the things we experienced, the food we eat and the times we just sat down and enjoy each others company.

On this phase, I am thankful God allowed me to be with Nanay and welcomed our new guest and treated her like a family and ended up learning a lot. Something took place out of nowhere, so unexpected and just made me appreciate life more, and praise God all the more for His glory and greatness. He is indeed one hella great great Gode!

We now have a new sister from another mother, just a little whiter! Hahaha

Or in French it says: Ma sœur d’une autre mère, mais un peu plus blanc ^_^

All in all it’s an eye-opening experience and a memorable one.

I hope everyone is having a great week! Cheerio!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Published by

sassymikee

We can't choose what stays and fades away. So cherish every moment, pray, love, live and laugh like it's the last. – Mikee Cane

Leave a Reply

